Thursday, June 13, 2024
HomeTechnologySummer Game Fest 2022: all the biggest announcements and reveals

Summer Game Fest 2022: all the biggest announcements and reveals

Summer Game Fest 2022, Geoff Keighley’s third-year season of gaming, is now over. It was mixed, to be fair.

Summer Game Fest is not a conference or an event, unlike E3 (which was canceled this year). It’s a season of digital events that spans multiple publishers and developers. The event was the same this year, with PlayStation, Capcom and Xbox hosting their own showcases in what has become “not-E3”. The return of the Summer Game Fest cross-industry showcase, hosted by Keighley was also a highlight of this year’s proceedings.

Summer Game Fest 2022 was full of big announcements and reveals like the deep dive into Starfield or the unveiling of Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2’s campaign. However, this year’s season of gaming felt a little less exciting than previous years. This is mainly due to the absence of any earth-shaking announcements. The focus now shifts to Gamescom 2022 where Keighley will host Opening Night Live.

There were many announcements, trailers for world premieres, deep-dives, and reveals. Find out more. For all the latest news, announcements, and showcases from Summer Game Fest 2022, read on.

RECOMMENDED VIDEOS FOR YOU…

Summer Game Fest 2022: Cut to the chase

  • What was it? It was a season of digital video games events
  • It was where? Streamed worldwide online
  • What was it? June 2022
  • Who was there? To name a few, Xbox, Bethesda, and Sony.

The biggest announcements

Below are the top announcements and our most popular takes from Summer Game Fest 2022.

Summer Game Fest 2022 schedule

It has already happened

Summer Game Fest 2022 has ended. The digital gaming season ran from June 9 to June 12, with the “core” events occurring between June 9-12, 2022. Some showcases took place, but not necessarily under the Summer Game Fest-2022 banner.

The main Summer Game Fest events are over, and we have plenty of exciting announcements, reveals, and updates from the showcases. These are the highlights and news from all of them.

Warhammer Skulls Showcase

When was that? June 1, at 10am PT/ 1pm ET/ 6pm BST (or 3am AEST on June 2, at 3am).

It is available online. The showcase video has been embedded above

The Warhammer Skulls Showcase, which was the first showcase for the gaming season, was full of juicy announcements. The most important announcement was that Warhammer40K: Rogue Trader is currently in development. However, no release date has been given. The announcements of Warhammer40K: Boltgun, Warhammer Forty-Killed, and Warhammer Forty-Killed were made as well.

The showcase also featured a behind-the-scenes clip for Space Marine 2, a new trailer for Darktide, and a trailer for Total War: Warhammer 3 – Immortal Empires. There were also updates on Blood Bowl 3! Did you miss the showcase? You can see the entire thing right here, thanks to the embedded video.

Sony State of Play

It was when? June 2, at 3:00 PT / June 6, ET / June 11, BST (or June 3, at 8 a.m. AEST).

It is available online. The showcase video has been embedded above

Although Sony had stated that the showcase would be focused on third-party and PSVR2 games, we feel the event relied too heavily on certain-hit franchises. Let’s all hope that Sony has another PlayStation showcase planned for July or August. This will give us an update and release date on the long-awaited God of War Ragnarok. Did you miss the showcase? You can see the entire thing right here, thanks to the embedded video.

Sonic Central

When was that? June 7, 2009 at 9am PT/ 12pm ET/ 5pm BST (or 6 June at 2am AEST).

It is available online. The showcase video has been embedded above

Sega’s Sonic Central showcase was focused on, as one might expect, everything about the blue hedgehog. The showcase included newson the Sonic franchise, including Sonic the Hedgehog 2, which arrived on Blu-Ray, and the first look at Sonic Prime 3D animated series. However, there were plenty of gaming news.

A tease of Sonic Frontiers’ prologue was shown, as well as a trailer for Sonic Origins. We also got announcements about new content for Sonic Speed Simulator and mobile games. Sonic costumes will be coming to Fall Guys, too. Did you miss the showcase? You can see the entire thing right here, thanks to the embedded video.

Summer Game Fest

When was that? June 9, at 2pm ET/ 11am PST/ 7pm BST (or, June 10, at 4am AEST).

It is available online. The showcase video has been embedded above

Geoff Keighley’s new season of gaming was officially launched at the Summer Game Fest live show. It featured big announcements, reveals, and updates. We were overwhelmed by the amount of information at this showcase so we have gathered some highlights for you to peruse. (Be sure to also check the top section for the most important announcements for the latest news)

Day of the Devs

When was that? June 9 right after the Summer Game Fest live show

Where can I see it? We embedded the showcase video below

Day of the Devs was back for Summer Game Fest 2022. It kicked off right after the Summer Game Fest showcase in June 9. Double Fine and Iam8bit hosted the indie showcase, which celebrated its 10th year. We had high expectations for previous years and this year’s showcase delivered as promised.

There were 16 games in total, and each one was quite diverse. There was something for everyone at this showcase.

Devolver Direct

When was that? June 9, at 3pm PT/ 6pm ET/ 11pm BST (or at 8am AEST on June 10, at 8am).

It is available online. The showcase video has been embedded above

Devolver Digital hosted Devolver Direct, its annual showcase, on June 9, this year. Devolver hosts the most unusual showcases of the gaming conference season each year, and this year was no exception.

We were able to see five new games, including a new FPS called Anger Foot. A brand new trailer was also released for the creepy-cute Cult of the Lambs. Its launch date is August 11 for the Nintendo Switch, Playstation 4, Xbox One, and PC.

Netflix Geeked Week: Gaming

When was that? June 10, at 1pm ET/ 10am PST/ 6pm BST (or, June 11, at 3:00 AEST).

It is available online. The showcase video has been embedded above

The five-day, free Netflix virtual event was centered entirely on video games. It took place June 10. The showcase featured announcements and Netflix shows. We were informed that a new animated Dragon Age show, Dragon Age: Absolution, is in development. Also, an animated version of Tekken is in the works.

Netflix’s shows Shadow and Bone and Queen’s Gambit will soon have their own mobile games. The streaming service also announced that a variety of non-branded games would soon be added to its catalogue, including Lucky Luna, a platformer inspired from Japanese folklore, and Spiritfarer, the management game. With trailers and sneak peeks, The Cuphead Show and Sonic Prime made their debuts.

Epic Games Store Summer Showcase

It was when? June 10, at 2pm ET/ 11am PST/ 7pm BST (or 6am AEST on June 11).

Where can I see it? You can embed the show below

As part of Summer Game Fest, the Epic Games Store hosted its stream. Although it didn’t have any major announcements, it was a quick show that started off strongly with Lord of the Rings Return to Moria. The game is a building and crafting game, with a release window for Spring 2023. We also got a look at Goat Simulator 3 as well as the Saints Row Boss Factory.

Tribeca Games Spotlight

When was that? June 10, at 3pm ET/ 12pm PST/ 8pm BST (or 6am AEST on June 11).

Where can I see it? We embedded the showcase video below

Tribeca Games Spotlight featured gameplay and interviews with creators from nine games that were officially selected for the Tribeca Games Festival, which runs from June 8 through June 19. These were the games that were shown:

  • American Arcadia
  • As Dusk Falls
  • The Cub
  • Cuphead – The Last Delicious Course
  • Immortality
  • Oxenfree II Lost Signals
  • A Plague Tale: Requiem
  • Thirsty Suitors
  • Venba

Guerrilla Collective 3

It was when? June 11, at 8 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. ET / 4 p.m. BST (or June 12, at 1 a.m. AEST).

It is available online. The showcase video has been embedded above

This year, The Guerrilla Collective was back with “fresh announcements”, trailers, and gameplay for future indie games.

The showcase featured Ugly, a new puzzle platformer, the release dates of I Was a Teenage Exocolonist, Signalis, and a surprise launch for Industria. You can view the entire thing via the embedded link below if you missed it.

For more trailers and gameplay, make sure you tune in to the Guerrilla Collective at 3.5 on June 13, at 1pm PT/ 4pm ET/ 9pm BST (or 6am AEST)

Wholesome Direct

When was that? June 11, at 9:30am PST / 12:30pm ET/ 5:30pm BST (or June 12, at 2:30 AM AEST).

Where can I see it? We embedded the showcase video below

Wholesome Direct, as the name implies, is the best gaming conference showcase. This year, the annual showcase focused on indie games that provide “comfort and compassion” and was no exception.

Wholesome Direct revealed Little Bear Chef, Bubblegum Galaxie, and Melodyssey, as well as the release dates for LumbearJack and Lonesome Village. Updates were also provided on games such as Princess Farmer and Skatebird, as well as Ooblets. You can view the entire thing via the embedded link below if you missed it.

Future Games Show

When was that? June 11, at 12PM PT / 3PM ET / 8pm GMT (or June 12, at 5am AEST).

Where can I see it? We embedded the showcase video below

The Future Games Show was back on June 11, with an hour-long showcase by GamesRadar, packed with announcements, trailers, and exclusives from some of the most exciting games in 2022 and beyond.

This showcase featured world premieres of Outpost, Tray Racers, and Enemy of the State. It also included a glimpse of Luto and a trailer for Morbid Metal. You can view the entire thing via the embedded link below if you missed it.

Xbox and Bethesda Game Showcase

When was that? June 12, at 1pm ET/ 10am PST/ 6pm BST (or Juni 13 at 3am AEST).

It is available online. The showcase video has been embedded above

The Bethesda and Xbox Showcase were focused on the games that will be released in the next 12 months. It was a smart move to keep the spotlight on the games sooner than expected after delays were reported on several featured titles.

We were able to see some of the upcoming big hitters, including Starfield and Redfall. There were also surprises such as High on Life by Justin Roiland’s Squanch Games. We were also updated on some existing games, such as Sea of Thieves or Forza Horizon, which both have new content.

Below is a collection of news from the show. We recommend you take a look at the section titled “Most Important Announcements” at the top to see the most recent news.

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments